NEST builds on the work of a number of the Centres, Groups, and Programs currently in existence within the Faculty of Social Science.

The eight Western Research Centres in the Faculty of Social Science govern NEST:

  • Centre for Climate Change, Sustainable Livelihoods and Health
  • Centre for Computational and Quantitative Social Science
  • Centre for Human Capital and Productivity
  • Centre for Research on Migration and Ethnic Relations
  • Centre for Research on Social Inequality
  • Centre for the Study of Political Behaviour
  • Centre for Transitional Justice and Post-Conflict Reconstruction
  • Centre for Urban Affairs and Local Governance
NEST is also affiliated with other research centres and institutes. While these centres and institutes do not fall under the umbrella of NEST, their mission, goals, and research focus can support and expand the work of the members of NEST.

  • Centre for Building Sustainable Value
  • Centre for Research on Health Equity and Social Inclusion
  • Centre for Research & Education on Violence Against Women & Children
  • Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction
  • Statistics Canada Research Data Centre at Western
  • Trillium Network for Advanced Manufacturing